Eli Reviews

Page 1 of 2
November 14, 2019
Netflix's latest horror film is among its most surprising and entertaining.
November 12, 2019
It's undeniably bold but Eli feels like a trap that ultimately forgives its prey. It's too safe of a horror movie. [Full review in Spanish].
October 31, 2019
Foy and the film's three writers build to an artless, third-act twist that feels like a future case study for cheap screenwriting rug-pulls.
October 31, 2019
Like a jigsaw puzzle broken apart all at once, not all the pieces fit back together into a cohesive whole. At a certain point, however, I gave up trying to make it all fit, sat back, and enjoyed the remainder of the ride.
October 28, 2019
To be honest, the "twist ending" was far from fulfilling...still, it's ~spooky szn~ and the jump scares mostly worked on me, so I'll give this one a thumbs medium.
October 28, 2019
After all the deliciously terrifying setup - perhaps some of the finest in recent times - the film reveals a truth that insta-damns it to silly valley.
October 25, 2019
Despite the risks Eli takes, at its core the movie is not very good. The performances are expected but competent. The scares are hollow jump-shocks where the score tells you precisely what's coming next.
October 24, 2019
Blood and gore, demonic imagery in excellent horror movie.
October 23, 2019
Despite some good scares, Eli winds up being more monotone than convincing. [Full Review in Spanish]
October 22, 2019
Eli represents yet another strange acquisition by Netflix from the old media - it's becoming clearer and clearer why these projects are getting dumped on streaming services.
October 21, 2019
It's a pleasure to see [director Ciarán] Foy returning to something a bit less contrived this time around. Unfortunately, despite employing the likes of Kelly Reilly and Lili Taylor, his latest is a bit of an underwhelming slog.
October 21, 2019
You've seen haunted houses and medical horror movies before, but Eli plays with those conventions to develop fresh scares along with familiar tropes.
October 21, 2019
Eli isn't the perfect film since the story is second to the scares. That said, it's extremely fun and takes the audience on a ride that explores almost every toy in the horror toybox...
October 20, 2019
It's the equivalent of horror Mad Libs, but defying sensible rationale, dare I admit bemused appreciation for this freewheelin' genre bullshittery?
October 20, 2019
Many may tire of the clichés and predictable jump scares that litter the movie, but for those who know exactly what they want from a horror movie and are not expecting to be blown away, Eli is enough fun to entertain.
October 20, 2019
A mostly interminable horror flick...
October 20, 2019
Eli has a couple of tense sequences, and decent jump scares, with an ending I honestly didn't saw coming [Full review in Spanish]
October 19, 2019
A promising premise sets a solid stage for terror.
October 18, 2019
I absolutely love it when a movie is willing to take such a wild swing. And swing they do ... It won't work for everyone, but boy did I enjoy Eli.
October 18, 2019
"Eli" has a strong payoff too with a memorably intense final 15 minutes. But that roaring finish feels like it should come much earlier in the picture. The story ends just when it's finally going somewhere.
Page 1 of 2