I Feel Pretty Reviews

Page 1 of 11
November 6, 2019
Here, though the movie is easily interpreted as a commentary on "real women" loving their bodies, the "Pretty" team offers a palatable lesson on acceptance, the truest gift.
August 8, 2019
Schumer shows that every woman has insecurities about how they look, but wants to empower women to shake their fear of flaws. You may not think this is the best movie, but it may make you laugh and feel better about your bad self.
July 21, 2019
Of course, Renee learns her lesson by the end, but the film's muddled messages do little to similarly educate viewers.
July 7, 2019
"I've always wondered what it feels like to be just undeniably pretty," Renee Bennett confides to her gorgeous gym buddy. Her wish is granted-in a way-after a bonk on the head at a SoulCycle class.
May 22, 2019
Despite a decent beginning, the main protagonist becomes annoyingly arrogant. While funny at first, the same types of jokes recycled cause dislike for the main character.
May 21, 2019
Even as it desperately clings to the most generic of beats, if features a performance from Michelle Williams on the edges of the screen providing some of the most effective belly-laughs of 2018.
May 4, 2019
You've already made up your mind on whether or not I Feel Pretty is a cinematic choice for yourself, and I garner a personal opinion on [Amy] Schumer is the deciding factor; her usual sex-heavy, gross-out shtick is nowhere to be seen here though.
March 20, 2019
Allegedly a self-actualization fairy tale, the film can't resist laughing at its characters for daring to accept themselves.
March 10, 2019
The story's biggest problem is that it [is] unclear why Renée couldn't simply have put a little more effort into dressing in a way that makes her feel confident ( ... ).
February 28, 2019
If I had a teenage daughter I would take her to see this film, and I think we would have a lot of laughs.
February 13, 2019
An underdeveloped, underwritten concept...Its values are at best clichéd and at worst offensive, its jokes rarely amusing and its attempted endorsement of body positivity and female confidence extremely flawed.
February 4, 2019
[Amy Schumer] presence is the main reason the movie comes off so well, and the decision to focus on her personal journey to fulfillment is the smartest decision the filmmakers make.
December 21, 2018
Here is a comedy with something meaningful to say, a film that asks us all to stop being our own worst critics, to stop hating our real and imagined flaws, and to be kind to each other.
November 27, 2018
It takes guts to lob something like this into our vigilantly woke popular culture...
November 27, 2018
It isn't bad and certainly not as anti-woman or body shaming as people feared, but it just can't get out of its own way a lot of the time.
November 25, 2018
The cast and the writers do enough with the premise to earn a few laughs while also delivering an uplifting message.
November 6, 2018
I Feel Pretty has some genuinely funny and sweet moments that would be remarkable for the typical rom-com, but its lackluster plot can't support the complex story of body-positivity-lite and self-actualization it's trying to include.
October 30, 2018
This is a movie that feels like it's trying to placate the most chauvinistic pigs who've said vicious things about her. Schumer shouldn't try to placate them; she should be eviscerating them.
October 28, 2018
You've got to be able to drop your guard to fully enjoy the comedy filled with fat-shaming jokes and that may prove to be difficult in this ultrasensitive era. There's a reason clips of the Tom Hanks comedy Big are included in the film.
October 23, 2018
Qualifies as a sort of 100-calorie pack of truth and uplift, with laughs sold separately.
Page 1 of 11