Inherent Vice Reviews

Page 1 of 13
July 24, 2019
[Joaquin Phoenix is] locked into playing one singular note throughout Vice, and, like all its varied characters, we care little about the good, the bad, or ugly events that will befall any of them.
May 17, 2019
Compulsively watchable and suitably frustrating, this stoner noir is one of Anderson's cleverest films, no doubt - but by some distance his least wise.
April 18, 2019
PTA gets loose with the film noir form only to better honor its essential dualities: people's simultaneous longing for and dreading of the truth, their desire to see things clearly or instead remain in the idealized world of their (intoxicated) mind...
April 3, 2019
A hilariously louche and ramshackle psychedelic noir, Inherent Vice is an audacious stylistic leap for Anderson, but his risks pay off beautifully.
March 12, 2019
I can count on one hand the times I've fallen asleep in a theater; at [Inherent] Vice I suspect my body was telling me this film was never going to get better, so why not do something more worthwhile with my time?
February 15, 2019
Something doesn't quite click in Inherent Vice, but is still worthwhile to check out. [Full Review in Spanish]
December 20, 2018
We're impressed with the evocation of times gone by and with Anderson's ability to adapt Pynchon's dense prose for the screen. Angeleno viewers may be made especially nostalgic
December 8, 2018
It's an exhausting task to wrap your mind around, but this is the type of film you have to turn something off to let it all in, and for that reason alone makes Inherent Vice beautiful, yet elusive.
October 24, 2018
I connected on an emotional level with it the first time, but I suspect I may find it better on repeat viewings; there is a masterpiece in there somewhere, I just have to dig deeper to find it.
August 31, 2018
A fog of uncertain motivations ... make it hard to ever get purchase on the film and truly engage with it.
August 22, 2018
"Inherent Vice" is foggy, sprawling and shaggy, yet epic in its own way.
June 22, 2018
Don't go looking for any explanations. Just look, man.
December 2, 2017
Paul Thomas Anderson is here to honor everything Thomas Pynchon and Inherent Vice are about, without dumbing the narrative down to draw a wider audience.
November 18, 2017
... cinema being the audiovisual medium that it is, we can't expect the literary adaptation to provide the same kind of syntactic energy that we'd find in its source text.
October 17, 2017
There's nothing here that Robert Altman didn't do more effectively and in his 1976 adaptation of The Long Goodbye, a film that rewards repeat viewings more than I suspect Inherent Vice will.
September 1, 2017
If I'm going fawn over a puzzling film, I'd rather it be something like Inception or The Matrix, movies that entertain me but also provoke so much thought and analysis that I can't take my mind off it.
August 24, 2017
Inherent Vice is one of those movies that tries to put across its maker's lack of control as a conscious and meaningful aesthetic scheme.
August 21, 2017
Yet Inherent Vice the movie is utterly its own thing, as thoroughly a piece of Anderson's imaginative universe as of Pynchon's.
August 3, 2017
This affable paean to absurdism will be revered in years to come no matter what hostility it engenders now.
December 6, 2016
Inherent Vice may not be one of Paul Thomas Anderson's better films, but there is enough there to make it more enjoyable than not.
Page 1 of 13