Support the Girls Reviews

Page 1 of 8
December 4, 2019
Leaving the cinema after Support the Girls, I felt different. I looked at the people around me differently, with a keener sense of empathy. The world felt somehow warmer. [TOP 50 FILMS OF THE DECADE]
December 2, 2019
This is also another excellent example of Regina Hall just being brilliant. The more films I see with her in, the better.
November 6, 2019
Overall, Support the Girls subtly celebrates sisterhood in the most unexpected place, with Regina Hall leading a diverse cast that delivers sass and charm.
August 12, 2019
Support the Girls is a smart, intelligent and ultimately bittersweet slice-of-life celebrating solidarity and empowerment in spaces where women are often discouraged from having either.
August 3, 2019
Admittedly, I didn't understand Support the Girls for much of the running time. It feels like scene after scene of nothing happening. However, the remarkable final 20 minutes pull the entire movie together.
August 2, 2019
The always excellent Regina Hall stars as den mother to a group of waitresses in this low-key, slice-of-life comedy.
August 1, 2019
Its portrayal of working class struggle is resonant without being didactic, and its hopeful to watch these characters find ways to survive, and sometimes even thrive, in this tough old world.
July 26, 2019
[Regina Hall] does fine job of holding the film together but, elsewhere, the story seems to waste talents like Haley Lu Richardson.
July 24, 2019
Despite the comedic tone, the issues in this film are serious and it tackles problems that feel relevant to the modern working woman.
July 8, 2019
A remarkably compassionate portrait of American womanhood that inspires hope without denying reality.
July 7, 2019
Bujalski does show that an unfair society can be made that bit more bearable when people look after each other. In the end, that feels uplifting in its own right.
July 2, 2019
A kind of social realism...there's a real feeling of family, but it's also a workplace, where it's possible for people to be mistreated...stripped-down and unexpected.
July 1, 2019
All these stresses reach boiling point in a fantastic few final scenes led by [Regina] Hall. Her silent reactions and then her screams show just how toxic and depressing her industry is, far more powerfully than any words.
July 1, 2019
Bujalski uses the past to make sense of the present... and the future.
June 30, 2019
Support the Girls falls flat, hampered by Lisa's stubborn helplessness. It is difficult to fully empathise with a character whose main obstacle is their own compassion...
June 30, 2019
Thankfully, we don't have bars like Double Whammies in this country, robbing this very American tale about underdressed waitresses of some of its relevance.
June 30, 2019
all too often the film pulls its punches in order to preserve its naturalistic style.
June 30, 2019
Meanwhile, Hall's sensitive, sincere and affecting performance as a woman making a stand for dignity in a deeply disrespectful environment may be her finest work to date, and the strength of the sisterhood is inspiring.
June 30, 2019
Hall is a revelation (dominant in nearly every scene), and the rooftop climax is fittingly cathartic.
June 30, 2019
Regina Hall is wonderful as the bar's hard-pressed manager, and the main waitresses are well drawn. I would happily watch this crew in a TV series.
Page 1 of 8