American Horror Story: Murder House Reviews

Page 1 of 2
June 26, 2018
For a first season, it wasn't that bad.
January 10, 2012
American Horror Story is just ridiculous. It fails miserably to differentiate between paying homage to horror and throwing every single horror trope into a blender and pouring the results over our heads.
December 27, 2011
Against every single odd, this haunted-Hollywood saga managed to take all the horror cliches in the book and, using those ingredients, spin a thought-provoking stew of compelling originality.
November 7, 2011
Despite the bumps on the way, it's worth beginning the ride.
November 2, 2011
Her [Lange] performance encapsulates the spirit of American Horror Story, an inventive, corny, stupid, shameless, exhausting series that will probably burn itself out even faster than Glee did.
October 5, 2011
To Murphy and Falchuk's credit, the brisk tempo serves the multiple converging plotlines well, allowing weirdness to befall everyone in their own unique way, while producing a myriad of questions for the viewer to ponder.
October 5, 2011
Engrossing and genuinely scary.
October 5, 2011
As much as I might be curious where things are headed, I just can't stomach much more of this.
Full Review | Original Score: D
October 5, 2011
So much of the outright horror is recycled from films-The Shining, Don't Look Now, Poltergeist-but the plotting and pacing feel vaguely original, sometimes complicated and sometimes satirical, like American Beauty.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
October 5, 2011
American Horror Story is a big ol' brooding, baffling, ridiculous and occasionally compelling mess of a show
October 5, 2011
The hot mess of American Horror Story is berserk to a fault, though it does have an unnerving originality compelling us to watch while we cringe, or perhaps smirk.
October 5, 2011
There's a surreal quality that feels wildly overdone -- and periodically risks tumbling from inspiring fright into inducing giggles.
October 5, 2011
Almost everything in the entire show has been cribbed (or crypt-ed, in this case) from every other American horror story.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 5, 2011
American Horror Story reminds me of a car wreck: It's disturbing and macabre to stare as you drive past, but you just can't help yourself.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 5, 2011
It feels more like the place where old horror movies have come to die.
October 5, 2011
Eventually attention turns to the family being frightened - and a duller, denser, more unpleasant clan has never stumbled its way through a haunted house.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 5, 2011
American Horror Story pilot is a nonsensical roller coaster ride that will confuse, astound and surprise viewers. You may not come away knowing whether you like it, but you won't be bored.
October 5, 2011
The cast alone makes the show worth checking out.
October 5, 2011
Maybe people will wander back to American Horror Story the way crazy-creepy people seem to wander into the Harmon home.
October 5, 2011
If I say American Horror Story felt to me like a 10-car pileup of themes and ideas I'd encountered elsewhere, true horror fans should read that as an indication that there's a terrific drinking game premiering on FX tonight.
Page 1 of 2