American Horror Story: Asylum Reviews

Page 1 of 3
June 26, 2018
The season as a whole was so smooth and so terrifying that it's probably the only one I will continue to go back to and watch.
November 4, 2013
American Horror Story: Asylum is filled with plenty of dark secrets, sinister twists, and unexpected turns - but unfortunately the one thing this psychologically invading season lacks is thoughtful explanation.
Full Review | Original Score: 6/10
October 10, 2013
The show grabs you, shocks you and keeps you guessing. The only question left unanswered at season's end is "Will Season 3 be half as good?"
Full Review | Original Score: B+
October 9, 2013
Right out of the gate, the show's second season, Asylum, established itself as something darker, weirder and more ambitious.
October 8, 2013
In a season that had so much potential, it was rather surprising to find it a bit of a letdown.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
January 24, 2013
Unlike the Season 1 finale where viewers were left on a cliffhanger, the show's writers tied this season up with a nice little bow.
January 24, 2013
In general, I'm not buying what the show is selling. American Horror Story: Asylum is about shock value, gore, depravity and the occasional singing number. The show doesn't have a larger message, and you can't convince me that it does.
January 23, 2013
This show has pushed the boundaries. By doing it so subtly, Murphy allows his commentary to slip under the cultural radar. And in a show that many felt was over-saturated with story lines and general information, subtlety is a wonderful addition.
January 23, 2013
"Madness Ends" did that unexpected thing of making you realize that you cared about characters you never knew you cared about so much. Not everything about Asylum worked, but this final chapter made me glad I spent quality time with lunatics.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.8/10
January 23, 2013
I'd rank "Asylum" slightly above "Murder House" in terms of consistency and overall artistry, but with back-to-back seasons this compelling, surprising and wonderfully acted, I can't wait to see what American Horror Story gets told next.
October 18, 2012
We are all too well-educated now in horror-movie tropes to really be surprised by any of this stuff. It's all in the execution, and to his great credit, Murphy executes this horror story with aplomb. And a lot of screaming.
October 18, 2012
It's a solid setup. And given the writers were tasked with coming up with a completely new storyline for an established hit, the foundation seems well laid and primed with numerous avenues to explore.
October 17, 2012
There's substance to the insanity; there's already a direction and a cohesion I simply didn't find in the first version of AHS.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.8/5
October 17, 2012
Strap yourselves in, everyone! Asylum is open, and it's sure to shock and disturb.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
October 17, 2012
For those who can get on its wavelength, Asylum promises happy scares and a goofy good time.
Full Review | Original Score: B
October 17, 2012
A lot of the time, Asylum played like a cross between the work of directors Sam Fuller and Rob Zombie.
October 17, 2012
There's an enormous amount going on all at once, and it's sort of a hot mess.
October 17, 2012
Ultimately, it's the exact same tedious show [Murphy and Falchuk have] been making, under one name or another, for years now.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
October 17, 2012
It's just intended to be a fun ride. While there's no telling if it'll stay on the course it has plotted, Asylum looks ready to gallop through even the craziest bits - all the way to the bitter end.
October 17, 2012
One final warning before you plunge in: AHS: Asylum crosses a line for television (which is getting harder and harder to do). It goes beyond dark all the way to clerical black, the scourge of all light.
Page 1 of 3