American Horror Story: Freak Show Reviews

Page 1 of 2
June 26, 2018
Freakshow had everything I could ask for from American Horror Story; lots of blood, cringe-worthy horror, jaw-dropping moments..., and most of all a GREAT VILLAIN!
March 16, 2017
Subtlety has never been creator Ryan Murphy's strong suit, but Murphy (who also wrote and directed tonight's premiere) seems to have fully embraced that approach, delivering what appears to be both the most horrifying and joyful season yet.
December 3, 2014
I'm going to go out on a limb - a bloodied, crudely dismembered, rotting limb. This series, despite its deliberately lefty-irking title and potentially insensitive subject matter, is by far and away my favourite so far.
December 1, 2014
Refreshingly, the season is also genuinely frightening, with at least one truly nightmarish vision per week.
November 3, 2014
It feels like a Toulouse-Lautrec painting come to lurid life, complete with a killer clown who ranks as the scariest character on TV.
October 22, 2014
The real reason to love American Horror Story is not the jumps or scares, but the sheer outrageous over-the-top gumption of it all.
October 21, 2014
Like the 1932 film Freaks which this series borrows from, AHS is capable of producing entertainment which is at once sensitive, silly and sensational. Exploitative? Perhaps, but so much else besides.
October 9, 2014
If Twisty's not the most gruesome clown to ever exist in either a TV show or film, he's right up there in the top three.
Full Review | Original Score: B
October 9, 2014
The first hour - which took us to Jupiter, Fla., in 1952 to ask who really are the "Monsters Among Us," the freaks or those who misjudge them? - was stylish, shocking and irresistibly over the (big) top!
October 9, 2014
So far, it is a lot of fun, so I'm definitely in.
October 9, 2014
Though the beginning is slow as we are introduced to Elsa and Bette and Dot, later when we are given a look into the rest of the members of the freak show everything gets more interesting.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
October 9, 2014
I didn't expect the American Horror Story: Freak Show premiere to be the most frightening of the anthology series. It was more bone chilling than I remember any of the previous ones.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.6/5
October 9, 2014
The first hour of AHS: Freak Show, with its amazing new title sequence, odd characters, gorgeous production values and depiction of a dying show-biz era, totally pulled me in. But I'm a sucker for the nostalgia and the creepiness of the sideshow world.
October 8, 2014
Mesmerizing characters, a perfectly realized atmosphere and one truly terrifying clown could make American Horror Story: Freak Show the most deliciously creepy and captivating season yet.
Full Review | Original Score: 9/10
October 8, 2014
It is Sarah Paulson who is the main attraction as a Siamese Twin that is actually more like the central creature in "The Thing with Two Heads" with Rosey Grier and Ray Milland. It's a triumph of special effects.
October 8, 2014
As with the previous three installments, "Freak Show" has that "hard to watch but can't look away" quality that will keep me wondering throughout the whole season if I can stick it out or not.
October 8, 2014
Speaking of scary: There's a clown. And not just any scary clown, but the scariest clown ever, a gruesome killer with a huge smile hideous enough to make us apologize to any ordinary clown we ever called scary.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 8, 2014
Like all great horror, it is willing to abuse its audience-which, in a perfectly Murphian turn, wants to be abused.
October 8, 2014
Even when it's not scream-out-loud terrifying, Freak Show is an act worth seeing when it comes to town.
Full Review | Original Score: 7.5/10
October 8, 2014
It's hard to know whether to laugh, scream or roll one's eyes. Even when Freak Show collapses under its undiluted excess, it does remember at least one essential truth of terror: Nothing's scarier than a mean, ugly clown.
Page 1 of 2