American Horror Story: Hotel Reviews

Page 1 of 3
July 25, 2018
The violence, all set that anodyne, pumping pop soundtrack, is unequivocally gross.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
July 16, 2018
American Horror Story: Hotel does not inspire interest. [Full Review in Spanish]
June 26, 2018
This season was certainly the only season... to not drop off any storyline or have any plot holes through the season which was a welcome surprise, and there were some great characters.
June 18, 2018
American Horror Story fans will no doubt enjoy Hotel, which may turn out to be the most elaborate and entertaining season yet.
August 11, 2017
It's fitting that American Horror Story: Hotel initiates a pop star's transition from music to television with a scene that's essentially a hybrid of the two.
May 8, 2017
Ryan Murphy and company have set the stage for a monstrous fifth season that's boasting its ability to be unapologetic from sex to the drugs and violence.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 24, 2016
As ever, the set design is spot on and brilliantly atmospheric, but ultimately this feels too similar to other, better series to really stand out.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
October 23, 2015
The third episode of the season, "Mommy," brings along another history-filled installment - though when it's the introduction of Angela Bassett's fierce Ramona, who may be the one to finally match the Countess, it's welcome.
October 16, 2015
To say that Gaga is the best thing going for Hotel sounds like an insult but is a high compliment. Despite early shakiness, the rest of the show's gears are turning just as well as they always did.
October 12, 2015
I bailed out mid-way through last year's Freak Show - Jessica Lange's swan song in the series - but I have a feeling I'm in for the duration this time around.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 12, 2015
The beginning of Hotel is full of images and lines that, described plainly, sound like they should be interesting, or at least crazy enough to watch, but instead they simply frustrate the viewer.
October 9, 2015
Unlike last season's Freak Show, I'm interested to see where these characters come from and where they end up.
October 9, 2015
I actually have a bunch of overall critiques for this franchise, but as not to overwhelm you, I'm just going to parcel them out per week until I give up on this show again and just drop it.
October 9, 2015
American Horror Story is cheap, poseur nihilism masquerading as risqu taboo flouting. It's a joke, one we've heard too many times and has been told far better elsewhere.
October 8, 2015
I am here to tell you that Ryan Murphy must be stopped.
October 8, 2015
The result is something as beguiling as it is objectionable; it's the kind of show you can't watch and yet don't want to turn off.
October 8, 2015
More so than any other season, it seeks to entertain us with a speedball of ornately rendered sensationalism, then make us feel vaguely bad about it.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
October 8, 2015
Whether or not the show can follow up such a grand introduction with creative and substantive content is the lingering question, though perhaps a connected query is more suitable: Why do you watch American Horror Story -- for the camp or for quality?
Full Review | Original Score: C+
October 8, 2015
Though it had more gross-out moments than ever, the fifth premiere hinted at a return to the best parts of the first season.
October 8, 2015
For this audaciously designed anthology series, this is the most visually arresting and twisted one yet - and given the history of American Horror Story, that's both a compliment, and a warning.
Page 1 of 3