American Horror Story: Hotel Reviews

Page 1 of 2
October 23, 2015
The third episode of the season, "Mommy," brings along another history-filled installment - though when it's the introduction of Angela Bassett's fierce Ramona, who may be the one to finally match the Countess, it's welcome.
October 16, 2015
To say that Gaga is the best thing going for Hotel sounds like an insult but is a high compliment. Despite early shakiness, the rest of the show's gears are turning just as well as they always did.
October 12, 2015
The beginning of Hotel is full of images and lines that, described plainly, sound like they should be interesting, or at least crazy enough to watch, but instead they simply frustrate the viewer.
October 9, 2015
I actually have a bunch of overall critiques for this franchise, but as not to overwhelm you, I'm just going to parcel them out per week until I give up on this show again and just drop it.
October 8, 2015
I am here to tell you that Ryan Murphy must be stopped.
October 8, 2015
More so than any other season, it seeks to entertain us with a speedball of ornately rendered sensationalism, then make us feel vaguely bad about it.
Full Review | Original Score: B-
October 8, 2015
Whether or not the show can follow up such a grand introduction with creative and substantive content is the lingering question, though perhaps a connected query is more suitable: Why do you watch American Horror Story -- for the camp or for quality?
Full Review | Original Score: C+
October 8, 2015
Though it had more gross-out moments than ever, the fifth premiere hinted at a return to the best parts of the first season.
October 8, 2015
For this audaciously designed anthology series, this is the most visually arresting and twisted one yet - and given the history of American Horror Story, that's both a compliment, and a warning.
October 7, 2015
The series' loyal fan base may be inured to the gore and willing to trust that the producers will get some story lines moving, but the first episode will leave the unconverted unconvinced.
October 7, 2015
Series creators Ryan Murphy and Brad Falchuk are doing things here that are mostly not to my liking, but they're doing them with such commitment that the result deserves to be respected, for its audacity and its indifference to what you think of it.
October 7, 2015
In short, what's old is new again, a theme many hotels have used in their day. For Horror Story, heading into its fifth season, it sure feels due.
October 7, 2015
There's only so much genre reinvention that two men can do.
October 7, 2015
If it falls short, that could be because the premiere feels more cruel than scary.
October 7, 2015
Disturbing us is the point, of course, but good horror stories go beyond grotesqueries and gore. American Horror Story: Hotel may do that, but I won't know; I don't plan to spend another night there.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/4
October 7, 2015
The findings are auspicious. AHS: Hotel more obviously resembles the first two, better seasons of American Horror Story than it does the latter, lesser two.
October 7, 2015
AHS: Hotel has the subtlety and texture of Gaga's ill-considered meat dress. But it sure is a butcher shop.
Full Review | Original Score: C-
October 7, 2015
The endless closeups maximize [Lady Gaga's] dramatic features, but inhibit her line delivery -- which veers towards the stilted.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
October 6, 2015
They're pushing boundaries. Screw your need for normalcy. You can get that anywhere. And, on that level, Hotel works. The question of quality comes down to the tolerance you have for style over substance.
October 6, 2015
Hotel hasn't hooked me with its storytelling, but it's always fun to see what the series does with its repertory acting company and with new additions. Throw in the normal grotesquerie and visual panache and that should keep me going for a while.
Page 1 of 2