Big Little Lies: Season 2 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
July 20, 2019
Season two wasn't unwatchable; in fact, despite many nonsensical developments, it was compelling because of the returning cast plus Streep... [But] it did need saving.
July 18, 2019
With more empathetic writing, Bonnie could have been the emotional anchor of season two.
July 1, 2019
What I appreciate about this season of Big Little Lies is its messiness; it feels undone somehow, and ragged. It's harder on its characters; it doesn't coddle them in cashmere but shoves them right into the deep end.
June 25, 2019
Its nuanced look at the ways that domestic violence can remain hidden from public view is one of the series' most important additions to the cultural conversation.
June 19, 2019
What an excellent first episode; out of the traps like a greyhound and with great dialogue - no second series slump here.
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
June 18, 2019
It was as good as any drama I have seen in the past decade, and still is. I just hope it goes somewhere new too.
June 18, 2019
With [Meryl] Streep on board, we're guaranteed for an exciting Season 2.
June 17, 2019
The early episodes of Big Little Lies suggest a masterful extension as the key characters are given meaty storylines to work with.
June 17, 2019
No one's been handed anything approaching as good a storyline as Streep, not yet - Bonnie's whole narrative is now "walking", which gives Zoë Kravitz nothing to work with.
June 11, 2019
The entire second season works better than it has any right to...
June 10, 2019
I'm still not sure I can say that the return of Big Little Lies is altogether necessary. But I can say that it promises to be thoroughly enjoyable and smart.
June 10, 2019
Although Big Little Lies doesn't seem entirely sure of where it's headed, it can still work itself up into a delectably roiling state of privilege and anger.
June 10, 2019
[Meryl] Streep gives Mary Louise a vicious and eerily hilarious maternal edge. She is clearly having a ball. I can't wait to see how her story line expands.
June 10, 2019
As good as the cast was, they couldn't quite lift Big Little Lies above the ordinary.
June 10, 2019
Happily enough these first few episodes are just as engrossing as those that came before. Scenes rapidly fluctuate from concerning to hilarious, but keeping up with the pace is no problem: This emotional roller coaster is far too fun.
June 10, 2019
No matter how tiny the performance dosage in a scene or episode, [Streep] leaves the whole thing somehow charged with her presence long after she has vanished into the wings. You can believe the very molecules of the air are still humming with her memory.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 10, 2019
One of the show's strengths is the way its characters and actresses range from extremely realistic to over-the-top, creating an engaging mix.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
June 7, 2019
Those who love this series are likely to love these new hours just as well. As for we few who weren't entirely swept up, one can't quite say there isn't enough of a story to merit a new season of this drama.
June 7, 2019
It's harder now to ignore, watching the early episodes of Season Two, that Big Little Lies is offering up some of the best psychological storytelling on television.
June 7, 2019
It looks great, sounds great, and is populated with some of the best actors on a very crowded planet.
Page 1 of 2