His Dark Materials: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 4
November 12, 2019
I have high hopes, though, for His Dark Materials... Watching this week's opening episode, I got echoes of Harry Potter, but more interesting, too, and with a splendid turn from Ruth Wilson as the villainous Mrs Coulter.
November 12, 2019
Sumptuously designed and faithfully adapted, His Dark Materials is skilfully bringing Pullman's worlds to life. Let's hope it continues (no, you can't check your Alethiometer).
Full Review | Original Score: 5/5
November 11, 2019
Uneven fantasy adaptation has strong cast, some violence.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 11, 2019
The inaugural instalment was slow, corny and bewildering. Much of its creakiness stemmed from the onerous weight of complicated backstory required for a sprawling saga that incorporates multiple realities and a dizzying abundance of gee-whiz conceits.
November 11, 2019
Even putting the daemons aside, if we can, the storytelling often felt flat... For now, it seems like one of your bog-standard, child-of-destiny fantasy epics.
Full Review | Original Score: 2/5
November 11, 2019
The appallingly ambitious His Dark Materials has burst fully formed on to our Sunday nights, and it is a thing of some glory.
November 8, 2019
HDM is very exciting.
November 8, 2019
I'm afraid it all felt a bit like the televisual equivalent of eating your greens - like homework.
November 8, 2019
As a His Dark Materials stan, I am one of the masses who awaited this new adaptation with baited breath. But honestly? It failed to deliver.
November 7, 2019
Being not-bad isn't the same as being great. His Dark Materials is faithful, yet it fails to be as artful or innovative in its adaptation as Pullman was in his invention.
November 7, 2019
The show does not disappoint.
November 6, 2019
The worldbuilding is lush and deep and expansive. You get a sense of the magic, the steampunk technology, but also the culture. There's a lot of darkness and twisty corners. This [show] does a good job...I can't wait to see where it goes.
November 6, 2019
Flat and uninspired, weighed down by stiff dialogue and constant exposition of the quirks of this multiverse.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 6, 2019
It's far more promising than the 2007 film version, The Golden Compass, that starred Nicole Kidman.
November 5, 2019
A wonderful balancing act of telling its story while investing immensely into its characters.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
November 5, 2019
His Dark Materials gives new life to Lyra and her journey in a way the film The Golden Compass never could. It's going to be exciting to see where the show is going to take us but overall after this strong start!
November 5, 2019
Despite some of the confusion about the world's details, His Dark Materials is still a well-paced, well-acted way into Philip Pullman's universe.
November 5, 2019
The real surprise this episode comes from Lord Boreal.
November 5, 2019
His Dark Materials...beautifully crafts a new world for new fans to come into, while also providing enough depth and life to Pullman's work that existing fans feel embraced by the story they know and love.
Full Review | Original Score: 10/10
November 5, 2019
Another action-packed episode of His Dark Materials, and we're a quarter of the way through the season.
Page 1 of 4