mixed-ish: Season 1 Reviews

November 26, 2019
Santamonica is quickly becoming a favorite character. I'm not sure it's her age or blunt tongue, but she made me laugh this entire episode. The witty one-liners have me laughing out of my chair.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.7/5
Top Critic
November 23, 2019
I love the premise of this misfit family trying to find where they fit in America's confusing, hypocritical racial hierarchy. And the cast, featuring Mark-Paul Gosselaar and Tika Sumpter as Rainbow's parents, often shines.
November 7, 2019
I trust that the talent behind the series created by Kenya Barris, Tracee Ellis Ross, and Peter Saji will work out the kinks, but it's definitely in the wait-and-see category.
November 7, 2019
I just love the whole cast.
November 7, 2019
From the first episode, it looks like mixed-ish, in the same vein of its predecessor black-ish, has all the ingredients to tackle those difficult grey areas in a smart, articulate, and funny way.
November 7, 2019
There may be a few too many precocious kid scenes, but the tone is warm, the cast is likable and the '80s details are a nostalgic kick.
October 28, 2019
Mixed-ish falls into the trap of framing its protagonists as pioneers of mixed-race consciousness, rather than inheritors of a long and complex history.
October 2, 2019
"Black-ish" spin-off has a uniquely wonderful take on race.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 2, 2019
On first glance, "Mixed-ish" shows potential. Much like its lead character, though, it struggles to decide what it wants to be.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/4
September 26, 2019
Much like being bi-racial creates a different racial experience, mixed-ish is a different kind of show - and that's ok. It's a lane to explore those differences in all of its nuances,
September 25, 2019
Perhaps Barris has recaptured some of the magic of his original work... Mixed-ish has a much fresher feel than the other shows.
September 25, 2019
Mixed-ish has the potential to be as good as Black-ish if Barris and Gist let young Bow and her mother Alicia lead the way.
September 25, 2019
As a first look into this new world, it's amusing at best and underwhelming waste of incredible potential at it's worst. Like Bow, I'm stuck in the middle, waiting to see how this all turns out.
Full Review | Original Score: C
September 24, 2019
The casting alone is at turns confusing and intriguing... but it could certainly make for some deeper discussions of the nuanced differences between black realities.
September 24, 2019
To see where Mixed-ish lands on the comic spectrum, I guess we'll just have to wait around for a second episode. This is a decent start.
September 24, 2019
In both concept and casting, Mixed-ish possesses the right pieces, but it hasn't yet figured out how to fit them together in a satisfying way.
September 24, 2019
It's fairly amusing, mostly because it comes from a different point of view - a family who grew in a commune moved to the burbs in the 70s.
September 24, 2019
There's loads of potential, but the first episode is underwhelming, a little too neat, and too reliant on spelling things out for the audience.
September 24, 2019
As a comedy, mixed-ish delivers mixed results with its dated hippie humor and heavy-handed theme. But things pick up whenever the great Gary Cole... shows up to mock them and shock them into taking some responsibility.
Top Critic
September 20, 2019
Wise, funny, patient, and full of that quality we call human kindness, something good came from that fraught childhood. "Mixed-ish" is her story and it feels like one worth hearing about.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4