mixed-ish: Season 1 Reviews

Top Critic
November 23, 2019
I love the premise of this misfit family trying to find where they fit in America's confusing, hypocritical racial hierarchy. And the cast, featuring Mark-Paul Gosselaar and Tika Sumpter as Rainbow's parents, often shines.
October 28, 2019
Mixed-ish falls into the trap of framing its protagonists as pioneers of mixed-race consciousness, rather than inheritors of a long and complex history.
September 25, 2019
As a first look into this new world, it's amusing at best and underwhelming waste of incredible potential at it's worst. Like Bow, I'm stuck in the middle, waiting to see how this all turns out.
Full Review | Original Score: C
September 24, 2019
The casting alone is at turns confusing and intriguing... but it could certainly make for some deeper discussions of the nuanced differences between black realities.
September 24, 2019
To see where Mixed-ish lands on the comic spectrum, I guess we'll just have to wait around for a second episode. This is a decent start.
September 24, 2019
In both concept and casting, Mixed-ish possesses the right pieces, but it hasn't yet figured out how to fit them together in a satisfying way.
September 24, 2019
There's loads of potential, but the first episode is underwhelming, a little too neat, and too reliant on spelling things out for the audience.
Top Critic
September 20, 2019
Wise, funny, patient, and full of that quality we call human kindness, something good came from that fraught childhood. "Mixed-ish" is her story and it feels like one worth hearing about.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/4