Our Boys: Season 1 Reviews

September 18, 2019
The show is unusually fearless about letting moral discomfort linger, and manages to be stirring without ever offering false hope, a rarity for even the best-made dramas.
August 28, 2019
Complicated drama centers on West Bank murders.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
August 23, 2019
Harrowing, heartbreaking, and hard to turn away from.
August 20, 2019
There's an immense level of compassion here, which should ultimately prove rewarding for anyone who digs in.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
August 16, 2019
The first two episodes at least suggest the series will be rewarding in the sense that it will provide a better understanding of the complexities at play without Our Boys itself serving any political agenda beyond the truth.
August 14, 2019
Our Boys is paced with a punishing slowness... But it rewards with tough insight.
August 13, 2019
This 10-episode HBO series puts faces on a conflict often seen -- especially in the U.S. -- from a distant aerial view, bringing the loss, pain and senseless circle of violence achingly home.
August 13, 2019
Trying to portray the intricacies of the Israeli-Palestinian conflict in a TV show is always difficult, but Our Boys is a compelling fictionalization of a very complicated story.
August 12, 2019
Our Boys puts a human face on an age-old conflict, asking if justice is ever possible in a world where young boys are used as tragic pawns.
August 12, 2019
The strange case of a narrative that might have been curated carefully with its investigative beats, but so little appears to happen in each episode that a necessary tension is lost.
August 12, 2019
"Our Boys" is done in such a thoughtful and sensitive manner that it demands to be viewed by as large an audience as possible, both locally and globally.
August 9, 2019
This is not to say Our Boys is detached - if anything, the emoting is deeply felt and often difficult to bear - but it is so microscopically focused on the tense real-time linear progression of the investigation that no moment feels contrived.
August 9, 2019
A work of distinguished writing, fearless in its sophistication, unfailing in its powers.