Stumptown: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 2
October 7, 2019
Fun crime solving drama with a strong, flawed female lead.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 7, 2019
Stumptown is a series to be enjoyed. It's pure prime-time entertainment that has a shot at being the next beloved network procedural.
October 7, 2019
[Tantoo] Cardinal's work always elevates a project.
October 3, 2019
After the premiere, I'm confident I can live another week without Stumptown. I'm not worried about stumbling across any spoilers, and I definitely won't be losing sleep over this story.
September 30, 2019
If you're looking for something that has the unique blend of familiarity and innovation that a really good network pilot can offer, that balancing of the restrictions of the form with a show that wants to try something new, check out Stumptown.
September 30, 2019
[Cobie] Smulders is so charismatic as my all-time favorite dirtbag private investigator, I just genuinely enjoyed watching her story unfold on-screen.
September 26, 2019
Another fun episode from the freshman series, even if ultimately it's more setting the stage for a bigger pay off next week.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5
September 26, 2019
There's a lot to introduce in a pilot, so I will forgive the simple case at the center of the episode. Mostly, however, I love the noir-ish look and feel of Stumptown, set in the parts of Portland, Oregon that aren't regularly featured in Portlandia.
September 26, 2019
Creator Jason Richman gives us a salty and surprising joyride featuring a mighty main character who, to be honest, isn't the best at anything... And that makes her an enticing, exciting tour guide through Portland's crime-y, craft beer underbelly.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.3/10
September 26, 2019
In a show filled with stand out characters, the most surprising one was the music. Stumptown is going to become the Guardians of the Galaxy of the TV world if they keep us this incredible soundtrack.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.8/5.0
September 26, 2019
Cobie Smulders is amazing in Stumptown and with plenty of awesome action and a lead it's easy to root for, the series has all the makings of must-watch television providing it can up the ante moving forward.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 26, 2019
You can never really go wrong with Cobie Smulders.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
September 25, 2019
A more-than-sturdy foundation for a fresh spin on the network detective series.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
September 25, 2019
Stumptown is nothing revolutionary, but an appealing cast, including a fine lead performance from Smulders, plus some sharp comedy writing makes the show a light and fun hour.
September 25, 2019
Smulders is an extremely sharp and capable performer who's especially good at finding humor in characters who take themselves just a little too seriously. Watching her whale on petty crime jerks who never see it coming is genuinely satisfying.
September 25, 2019
Stumptown is one of the better new fall network pilots, and not just because most of them are BAD, but because it delivers Smulders to our TV screens on a weekly basis again.
Full Review | Original Score: 60/100
September 25, 2019
Between the intricately staged violence and Smulders' wonderfully wisecracking, knuckle-busting performance, the Stumptown pilot is an intense experience -- so much so that it's hard to believe the rest of the series can hold up to the same standard.
September 25, 2019
If the series lives up to the standard set by its pilot, it could easily find its way onto at least a few "Best of" lists in the next decade.
Full Review | Original Score: 8.9/10
September 25, 2019
Network TV has a penchant for miscasting female leads of action shows... you hardly believe [ Cobie Smulders will] survive one scuffle, let alone lots of them.
September 25, 2019
Grounded in character, Stumptown feels like the most fun type of destination TV.
Page 1 of 2