The Politician: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 5
Top Critic
November 23, 2019
The character at the heart of this story, self-centered and struggling with how his ambition is changing him, seems built for today's times.
November 5, 2019
The Politician succeeds only in making an already unlikeable character even less appealing.
October 22, 2019
The frantic attempts to get his vote are both depressingly realistic and comically rueful. Everything is seen from the voter's perspective and that's where The Politician, as a series, comes close to being a work of genius.
October 19, 2019
It's just a little lightweight, closer to Glee or The New Normal than it is to Murphy's true heavyhitters like Pose or American Crime Story.
October 17, 2019
I am sure Murphy's dedicated fans will enjoy the show, but by the season finale you can already see the show is preparing to reinvent itself. Maybe that will make The Politician worth a second look.
Full Review | Original Score: 7/10
October 16, 2019
In some ways, the most interesting thing about The Politician is that nearly all the characters sense that they live in an a wholly ersatz world and don't care.
October 16, 2019
The Politician is a shiny, arch, schizophrenic train wreck from the start.
October 9, 2019
It's not a particularly good series, but there are a lot of great ideas and a few good characters swirling around in what is otherwise a muddled, try-hard mess.
October 7, 2019
His lust for power is accompanied by lies, venality and whatever else it takes, and it's all very artfully framed and shot, but I couldn't care less about any of these people.
October 7, 2019
Violence, murder, dark dealings in high school-set drama.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
October 7, 2019
Think of it as Glee meets House of Cards... But you might end up wanting less high school melodrama and more political machinations.
October 7, 2019
There are moments when the talented Ben Platt gives added complexity to a character that seemed to only embody big statements. [Full Review in Spanish]
October 7, 2019
There are moments in the first episode where you can sense what the show might be aiming for... And when Gwyneth Paltrow gets involved as Payton's emotionally distant adoptive mother, it briefly delivers. Too bad about the other 50 minutes.
October 4, 2019
Though The Politician plays with the signifiers of progressivism...it continues to push the idea that the winners are the ones who repress or hide these politically unmarketable traits in order to gain power.
October 4, 2019
It really feels like after Grey's Anatomy got the business of the premiere out of the way...quite the fresh start.
October 3, 2019
I take it back-I hate this show.
October 3, 2019
The ingredients are there, but the result just never jells. The Politician not only doesn't go anywhere new, it doesn't even successfully go where Murphy's gone before.
October 3, 2019
There are a few bits of amusing dialogue and farce, but they cannot rescue this stilted, derivative tale.
Full Review | Original Score: 2.5/5
October 2, 2019
Season 1 of The Politician is hyperbolic, intense, young adult drama at its best. Ben Platt is just incredible in this role. I need more!
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
October 2, 2019
The aesthetics can't distract from the emptiness of the show. Murphy's latest TV offering is not the political satire it wants to be, nor the political satire we need.
Page 1 of 5