Tuca & Bertie: Season 1 Reviews

May 8, 2019
Tuca & Bertie is raucous, heartfelt, surreal, and distinctly female.
Full Review | Original Score: A-
May 6, 2019
This is a chirpily realised world that stays true to its experimentalism - and its pleasures are consistent, if deliciously twisted, and very surreal indeed.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
May 6, 2019
It's a consistent joy to watch the series bring that same richness to its characters' internal realities. Tuca and Bertie are still trying to figure things out, but the series handles their growing pains with tenderness and understanding.
May 3, 2019
The innocent goofiness permeating early episodes of Tuca & Bertie masks dark sorrows born of trauma, emerging slowly but with steady assurance as the season progresses and never losing site of the characters' humanity.
May 3, 2019
That the voice cast includes the likes of Richard E. Grant, Reggie Watts, Tig Notaro and Nailed It!'s Nicole Byer is a bonus. Fans of Broad City lamenting the end of that masterpiece might find it a candy-coloured consolation.
Top Critic
May 3, 2019
In Hanawalt's hands, you'll feel wonderfully unbalanced, then tenderly comforted.
May 2, 2019
Bright, encouraging, and outrageous, watching "Tuca & Bertie" can feel like watching a particularly excellent Saturday morning cartoon.
Full Review | Original Score: A
May 2, 2019
Hanawalt finally gets to play in a sandbox entirely of her own making, and the results are as weird as they are wonderful.
May 2, 2019
In short order, Tuca & Bertie has become another Netflix animated gem for adults, one that can be placed in a conversation with Bojack, Big Mouth and F Is for Family.
May 2, 2019
What really distinguishes the show, though, is Hanawalt's surreal vision, the anarchic fluidity of the landscape, the series's whimsically bending laws of both nature and physics.
May 2, 2019
It's the design of the show that makes it more than a diversion. I mean it as a compliment when I say that you could project this show on the wall of a nightclub with music blasting and still be mesmerized by it.
May 2, 2019
The start of Tuca & Bertie often left me confused, even as I enjoyed looking at it. But I stuck with it and soon found myself simply happy to be spending time in the company of these dysfunctional but endearing pals, and eager to see more when it comes.
Full Review | Original Score: 3.5/5