Watchmen: Season 1 Reviews

Page 1 of 5
November 17, 2019
It's easy to be wowed by Watchmen, but that doesn't necessarily make it wondrous.
Full Review | Original Score: 3/5
November 14, 2019
Watchmen is a puzzle with a paranoid contemporary side. These days, political extremists make dark threats of Civil War II; on the show, as in real life, the masks are coming off.
November 13, 2019
Show-runner Damon Lindelof has created a narrative with roots so firmly implanted in the original text, the lore has become fertilised with incredible fecundity.
November 5, 2019
Damon Lindelof's over-plotted, over-anxious, daring, genre-hopping offshoot is less about hunting down the bad guys than the twisted turns and stubborn legacies of racist trauma.
Full Review | Original Score: 8/10
November 1, 2019
It is dark, it is gritty, and it totally throws unexpected twists at you. I can only hope that it continues down the same path.
Full Review | Original Score: 4.5/5
October 31, 2019
What's particularly fascinating about the beginning of Watchmen is how it doesn't lean too much into the science-fiction aspect of the world.
October 31, 2019
It's the visionary production details that work so, so well.
October 30, 2019
It seems though that the more characters we meet, the less we can trust any of them all...It is anyone's game.
October 29, 2019
If you've never read "Watchmen," you will still enjoy the fearlessness of the show, which wrestles with some of the biggest problems in modern American society in truly audacious fashion any may even go on to surpass the original.
October 28, 2019
Fans of the original comic will wait fascinated for the development of the story. Those who are discovering Watchmen for the first time will have to wait for additional clues to figure out the puzzle built by Lindelof. [Full Review in Spanish]
October 25, 2019
Mercifully, the resulting drama... is nothing short of a triumph.
October 25, 2019
The pilot's best flourishes, in fact, come from pure invention.
October 25, 2019
Sunday night on HBO, I saw something I thought I'd never see on television: the depiction of a dark day in American history that not many know about-the Tulsa massacre.
October 25, 2019
Watchmen is a bold, cracked collage about identity, morality, and the broken culture around us and is perhaps some of the best of both worlds balance between the mysterious and the humane, Lindelof has crafted thus far.
Full Review | Original Score: B+
October 24, 2019
Meta-superhero show is deep, violent, challenging.
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
October 24, 2019
[It] unfolds in the way a giant jigsaw puzzle gets put together, with isolated fragments of the bigger picture being revealed bit by bit. It's a genuinely thrilling thing to witness as the series progresses.
October 24, 2019
The most admirable thing about Lindelof's Watchmen is that it channels the spirit of the original comic without merely rehashing it.
October 24, 2019
Watchmen's aesthetic is neither pointedly unglamorous nor cartoonishly heightened, but somewhere in the dreamlike space between.
Top Critic
October 24, 2019
Based on the episodes I've seen, it's too early to tell whether Lindelof can make the show's enigmas pay off in a satisfying way, but so far, I'm ready to give him the chance.
October 23, 2019
A stupendous and intelligent addition to the mythical lore. [Full Review in Spanish]
Full Review | Original Score: 4/5
Page 1 of 5